Winter along the Cascade Loop Highway


Last week I had an opportunity to drive over the mountains on the Cascade Loop Highway, to Eastern Washington for a 3 day winter photo safari. The plan was to escape and explore on the east side of the mountains where they have a REAL winter with snow and that sort of thing.

I had intended to do some hiking and out door adventures but my plans were derailed by the two wonderfully sumptuous resorts I stayed in along the way.

My trip took me over Stevens Pass to Leavenworth, where I stayed at the Sleeping Lady Mountain Resort. Leavenworth is a heaven for all winter activities, and the weather was perfect: It snowed the night before I arrived, was clear during the day and snowed again late at night, making for perfect conditions.

The drive over Stevens Pass was uneventful, at a bit over 4,000 feet the top of the pass was crusted with snow, but traction was good and all went perfectly.

The Sleeping Lady Mountain Resort was such a treat. Everything about the place is wonderful, the rooms, food, hospitality and location, in fact it was too nice! I found myself so pampered that I didn’t make it very far afield out side, but rather luxuriated in the spa, hot tub and wonderfully warm room…

Here are a few images from my stay.

The next day took me further east along the Cascade Loop Highway to Twisp and another way too incredible lodging opportunity at the Twisp River Suites.

I rarely stay in resorts, or even hotels for that matter, I am happy with my Thermarest and sleeping bag. I am slightly embarrassed to report that I made little effort to brave the elements outdoors, but rather opted for the living the life of luxury at the Twisp River Suites. The room was amazing, everything perfect, even the couch was captivating, it enveloped me completely!

But, I did manage to get a few pics and here they are!

Merry Christmas, everyone!

9 thoughts on “Winter along the Cascade Loop Highway

  1. Oh shame on you ๐Ÿ™‚ It doesn’t hurt to be pampered once in a while and it seems like the best places at that cold time of the year to do it.

  2. Stunning images as always, Andy! There’s something to be said for spoiling oneself every now and then โ€” especially at Christmas. I hope yours was wonderful. And let us hope for the best in the year ahead! Cheers to you from Minnesota.

Leave a Reply

